…something new

I have a confession to make.

20120720-001003.jpg

I’ve never purchased nor used a face high lighter in all the time I’ve been wearing make-up. I’ve always wanted to and always looked at them but never took the plunge to actually spending money on them. I’m not sure why I guess I figured they were just an extra step in the process…kind of like bronzer but that’s a different story for a different day. I feel as though a lot of people feel the way I do about certain products. I mean, how many people do you know have an eyeshadow trio and only use one color because they don’t know how the other two fit in? Then again I may just be talking around it to make myselffeel better about my short coming, but I digress.

Long story long- I finally did it. I bought a highlighter. We were in the MAC store this past Saturday [procrastinate much on writing?] and I just happened to stumble upon the Heavenly Creature collection. Generally baked cosmetics and mineralized skinfinishes don’t catch my eye…but one of the sales associates had the most ethereal glow about her. So much so that I had to ask what she had going on. Come to fine out that it was this lovely specimen of a product that pretty much gave her cheeks, browbone, and nose the most lovely sheen. Next thing I knew- lightscapade was my very own. It’s the most beautiful mix of a nude, pink and blue that makes for crisp highlighting neutral. Not too gold and not too pink- well at least in my opinion. I’m still in the “getting to know you” phase with it…kind of like when you try and write with theopposite hand for the first time and know it looks off buyou keep trying anyway…I’ll also let you know how we get along.

Do you have any products that make you feel the same way? What did you do to overcome  your curiosity and finally try it? Let me know!

20120720-001019.jpg

5 thoughts on “…something new

  1. I love highlighters! Bronzers are something I am still getting used to. But I love highlighters, they really make your face more interesting to look at, as it brings in light in different areas and is fun to observe!

  2. I’ve been wanting to purchase one of the mineralize skinfinishes myself, although I was considering either Soft and Gentle or Light Year. However, this color looks great and will be added to the list to swatch in store as well.

    • I’ve heard amazing things about soft and gentle…that’s what I was originally looking at…haven’t heard about light year [noob? probably]…then there are lustre drops too that are quite lovely. I think I was just overwhelmed with “highlighting thingies” I’m also thinking this one’s is limited so definitely go and see if you can have a look before it goes!

Leave a Reply

