Review: MAC super slick liquid eyeliner

So today I wanted to talk about one of my recent eyeliner purchases. I had watched on YouTube and saw a couple blogs that featured liquid gold eyeliner. For the most part- gold is not my thing…but I kept seeing it and it grew on me. Next thing I knew I was debating between the MAC super slick liquid eyeliner in Pure Show (18.50 USD) and Urban Decays’ El Dorado (19 USD).

20120815-001905.jpg
Seeing as the prices are so close, that wasn’t really an issue… the colors are even similarly described. They’re so close I swatches them in the same day and couldn’t tell the difference. The only reason I ended up with Pure Show was that I was already purchasing something at MAC (my highlighter) so I went for it.

20120815-002056.jpg
Dare I say… Part of me actually regrets this purchase. And it’s all based off of personal preference. I love the color, as I said there is little difference between the two. The color is a little sheer at times but is definitely build-able. And I love that it dried so fast! Sometimes liquids take for.eve.er. It’s the brush. I’m not the biggest fan of this new felt tip applicator. Don’t get me wrong- I love the one with line stiletto. But this one has very little flex to it. On top of that, I have long lashes and the liner gets on those and makes my mascara look clumpy. I suppose I just tend to lean closer to brushes because it’s what I’m used to. Hell I’ve been doing liquid liner since I was 10 for ballet and I can safely say that I feel as though this is one of my least favorite wands. I’ll still use it up- I just wish I had El Dorado instead.

Have you tried any of these? How did you get along?

Leave a Reply

