Train your mane

This post is a long one…bare with me…

20120823-180453.jpg

There are many things we wish we could control in life. Your boyfriend, your dog, and dare I add in there…your hair??!! Of the three the hair is something we actually have some control over. For the longest time, I felt as though I had been given a rotten egg when my DNA chain aligned. I have big, frizzy, poofy hair. When it’s wet it looks all nice and curly but as it dries it shrinks up into kinks and curls of varying curl patterns. I got made fun of…I got picked on. It was bad news bears…until my mom paid to get my hair chemically done. And it was lovely for a while but the upkeep for perming and straightening your hair can a) be damaging and b) be costly. So as I got older (mind you she paid for it when I was between 12 and 18 not like…when I had a job and money) I tried to stretch out the longevity of these treatments…and realized I could get similar results doing it myself.

So I figured that I could break this down into a couple post for you guys as kind of…how I handle my hair and keep styles longer.

Cool? cool.

First things first- you have to train it. And by training it I mean that you can get nicer longer styles by not washing your hair as often. Now…BEFORE you go off and say I’m a dirty b/ho/skank/whatever…I’m going to share this with you. I wash my hair maybe once a week. That’s once every 5-7 days. And I can hear you all now “my hairs too greasy for that, my hairs too fine” but trust me. It is possible. Maybe not 5-7 days possible…but possible.

First thing you need to realize is that the first week to a month are going to be ugly. You need to get over that…and there are some new friends out there that are here to help you. Cue- dry shampoo and if you don’t have the funds for that baby powder. Just something to soak up oils. You’ll also need headbands,clips, accessories to trick people from looking at your roots and realizing “oh that’s a nice flower”. And finally- you need to realize what kind of hair you have. Like- really realize. The products you’ve purchased on a whim or because your best friend said it did amazeball things to their hair may not be right for your hair. I know for a dang fact that there’s no way in hell I’ll ever have anything in my hair for thin hair or to add volume. Never. My sister bought a volumizing shampoo once because she liked the smell and I tried it not realizing it was for volume. I had to rewash my hair that night. So take some time and really assess your hair and your hairs needs.

20120823-180501.jpg

As far as extending your wash you need to start out slow. Go one day with out washing for a week….aka every other day. the next week wash every three days and go on. Your hair will get used to it. It produces the oils in the fashion that is does because of the frequent washing. Once it realizes that it can lay off the oil production…it’ll relax. There’s also the matter of actively brushing your hair. A lot of people brush their hair at the top a little and then focus on the bottom because of tangles. By doing this you’re not distributing the oils down the shafts of the hair and it’s grease just sitting…in your roots.

gross.

It’s the third/forth week that can get ugly. This maaay be where you realize that you’re not willing to go more than 2 days without washing. Or you may realize that your hair is actually drier than you thought and you can go longer. All I can say from personal experience is when your scalp actually starts to ache- you’ve gone too far. I can also say that my hairdresser says I have some of the healthiest, non-split end, color treated hair he has dealt with- so I’m doing something right. Products are part of it but still. I attribute a lot of it to the less frequent washes.

Am I the only one out there that does this? AM I GROSS??!!

haha more to come…

20120823-170011.jpg

Leave a Reply

