REVIEW:When bad makeup happens to good people

I’m not entirely sure what went wrong, or if anything really did go wrong. In the overall photo…it doesn’t look half bad. Infact I was excited to write my post up for it…the I saw the close ups…eesh. Was it a bad product batch? Is the product actually bad (highly doubt it)? Was it the wrong combination of products?Was it user error? (Highly plausible). All I know…is that this was not a good look…look at all that creasing! I tried out the brown Makeup Forever aqua eyes shadow stick for a smokey eye and ended up a hot mess express. It was in my under eye wrinkles, my crease, my contact lense (though that could have been mascara), my inner tear duct (you know what I’m talking about…boogies). It wasn’t as workable as I thought it would be and was very difficult to blend…or do much of anything. I’ve used it on my waterline…on its own. I’m just not sure about it. Part of me wants to purchase a different one (perhaps one with a little more dimension then a flat brown) and give it a go. Don’t get me wrong- I do like it for tight lining and upper lash line- I’m just still working with it. I’ll have to report back with an update in a month or so- but for now I figured I’d share a few of my thoughts from this particular day/experience with you lovelies.

20121013-001852.jpg

have any of you tried this product? How did you use it?

7 thoughts on “REVIEW:When bad makeup happens to good people

  1. Ugh it sucks when you get a new product and it does not work as promised. I have never used this eyeliner, but I haven’t heard good things about it. I love Inglot’s Soft Precision Eyeliner in #22. Best brown liner ever.

    • Sadly this isn’t even an eyeliner it’s a waterproof shadow stick…so I hoped for a little more flexibility. I’m hoping it was more the combination of products used that day rather then the product…I just haven’t used it that way since that day…I enjoyed it as a liner before though.
      And Inglots just amazing…I can’t wait to go to their shop in NYC in a couple weeks πŸ˜€

  2. I am surprised that Makeup Forever didn’t work – I’ve only had luck with their products. That being said, I haven’t tried their shadow stick. Go switch your bad batch out and try, try again. Then let us know how it goes!

    • Oh I know! I adore a lot of their products like the HD foundation, smokey lash, eyeshadows etc….but this one is being stubborn with its learning curve! I think the first go was so rough I’ve avoided to try and use it in the same manner/for the same things since…i think that since I’ve used so many shadow sticks that worked in a similar was to each other (nyx, sephora, urban decay) other that i thought i was in for a similar experience.

      Don’t you worry though- I’m going to crack this nut!

  3. Pingback: Love, Love Me Do « Cowboys and Crossbones

Leave a Reply

