REVIEW: Hourglass cosmetics Aura cheekstains

First and foremost- I’d like to thank the lot of your for your kind words and support in regards to that wackadoo I had to deal with at work last week. I laughed, and chuckled, and maybe (maybe) snorted a little bit. Luckily I didn’t have any said wackadoos this past weekend so hooray for me!
But that’s not what we’re talking about today…today we’re doing a review! As fall and winter hits and the weather dries out and gets colder, I tend to switch a lot of my powder products to creams or liquids. The place I’ve always had issues with this whole “way of being” has been with blush. Cream and liquid blushes seem to be the first to splotch, oxidize, and stick to places they’re not supposed to (ie: concealer…which defeats all concealing purposes).

20121219-003310.jpg
Insert Hourglass Sheer Cheek stains. As the name nudges at, they’re a sheer cheek stain….but so much more. They’re more on the creamy, foundation side like the make up forever hd blushes…but slightly thinner…possibly closer to a gel/cream (because I’m in the business of making that much sense). They’re well pigmented and a little definitely goes a long way.

20121219-003908.jpg

The applicator is definitely unique in that it’s almost like a plush fabric. The product clicks up and then you go from there. For on the go it’s easy to blend in with your fingers, but I prefer to put some into the back of my hand and then stipple it onto the cheeks with a (you guessed it) soft stippling brush. This gives a nice natural glow to the skin. I try to keep this with as little of it touching my face as possible, hence back of a clean hand. No need to share bacteria. I’d also like to note that it’s ok to be a little more heavy handed with this because as it sets into the skin it softens and isn’t as vibrant.

20121219-005821.jpgl-r: flush and rouge
I honestly love this product. As a MAC blush junkie, it’s definitely opened my eyes to something new and different that I enjoy just as much…if not more! It’s not rocket science, doesn’t look different at the end if the day, and the colors are natural. Another nice point about the brand in general is that a lot of their products are gluten free and many, if not all of them, are vegan. I would suggest checking from product to product(safety is best when dealing with allergies or beliefs) but it’s nice to know that there are options out there. The only issue I had with the product is…well… It kind of looked/looks like a feminine hygiene product- if you know what I mean. And that’s just me keeping it real with you all. I’m the type of person that can be turned off by things like that…but obviously I got over it. I mean is that weird? I can’t help the way my brain works.

20121219-010451.jpg#imamodel

In the end I would definitely tell you lovelies to not overlook this brand! I will note that it’s not cheap. At 45 dollars a pop it’s definitely a luxury product, however the way it feels on the skin, ease of use,and the small amount you need to accomplish luminous cheeks- I think they’re lovely and worth it.
❀edit❀: I meant to put where you could find hourglass cosmetics! They can be found at various online retailers as well as Barney’s, Bloomingdales, Space.NK, Mecca (Australia/overseas), and Liberty (UK)

Hope you all find this review helpful and let me know if you have any questions!

Later lovelies!
Xx

*these products were gifted from an hourglass representative as well as a close work buddy that had multiples. That being said these opinions are still all of my own as I want to give you the benefit of learning about things before diving in…any questions? Let me know! πŸ’™πŸ’™

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: Hourglass cosmetics Aura cheekstains

    • Definitely an underdog in the luxury cosmetics ranges. I also added to the post where you can find their cosmetics. It’s just rare to find a blush that is cream, last, and is hydrating. They’re definitely on to something!

Leave a Reply

