Single.

20130131-020135.jpg

I, Audrey, am Single.
Capital S definite period at the end- Single.
I find that people think about this more during February simply because of that dang Saint/Cherub valentines thing. So I thought I’d take a little time this month addressing love, relationships, and break ups. Maybe a couple playlist and make-up ideas thrown in there…but this is me boldly speaking before when my blogging track record isn’t on a high note. BUT I’m going to try.

I’m going through that phase where everyone’s getting engaged, married, or babies. It got a little hectic for a while- definitely told my other single bestie that I needed for nothing to happen in those regards for at least a month. Pretty sure that lit the fire under a few people’s asses because just in that week I had three engagements, got a wedding announcement in the mail, aaaand a baby shower invite. ONE WEEK. That’s a lot going on for one week. Within that week I found the set of note cards above and it made me smile. Very much a you’re not the only one feeling this way moment made by uncovet. I feel as though thee Ms.Carrie Bradshaw would have utilized these…perhaps in the episode where her Manolo’s were taken at the party and she had to go home in unglamorous, dirty running shoes (I DIE).

Along with all this, I turn thirty this year. That’s a big step in life I think. I’m down to 6 months of commenting “oh I’m in my late 20’s” now it’s just thirty. I think I may need to make a trip for this one…New York? Vegas? Florida? Nursing home? We’ll see. I’ve constantly had the issue with my parents about a combination of my age and my singledom. They’re southern Baptist (represent) that got married at 16 and 18 respectfully. That was normal at the time. My mother had her first child at 17 ( exactly a year and a day later). She has made quips in my life about how old my eldest sister was at certain times if my life or how many she had at certain times. Example- at my age she had 3 with one on the verge of 13/14. Please imagine how it went when she informed one of my previous boyfriends that she had an 8 year old at our age…we were 24.

All that being said you’re probably thinking ” My Lord this is one lonely lady” Especially after my post about my season sadness. But to be honest I’m perfectly ok with it all. I have so much going on that I don’t feel, at this point in my life, that I can give to another person the time and attention they deserve. I work two jobs (by choice and LOVE it [most of the time]). My dog was diagnosed with diabetes in the past year so that has taken a lot of time…and I just feel like there’s a lot to get together before I can fully bring someone into my life. Am I actively looking? No. Sometimes I think I’ve done too good of a job becoming independent…but when the right person comes- it’ll be something they love about me rather than the cause of issues.

Well dang I went off on a bit of a tangent there! But just know if you’re out there wondering ” why am I still single??!” Just know you’re not alone and great things take time.

20130201-023253.jpg
{source}

Later lovies!

Xx

ps! If any of you would like to guest post on any of the topics in the first paragraph (love, heartbreak, singledom, etc please email me here Thanks in advance!

2 thoughts on “Single.

  1. Great post! Some people just can’t fathom that people can’t be happy unless they are JUST. LIKE. THEM. So annoying. Also, sorry about your pup! I have six precious fur babies (3 dogs, 3 cats), and a few of them have special needs. It can be tough but it’s super rewarding.

    • I read a quote recently that was something along the lines of “saying someone can’t be sad because someone has it worse is like telling someone they can’t be happy because someone else has it better” it really changed my way of thinking.
      And I agree! Caring for animals with special needs is so rewarding…it’s hard to explain it to people who haven’t experienced it. “No I can’t get new shoes I need to pay for insulin/needles/diet food/vet visits” or “I can’t go out I don’t have any one to take care of/give him his shot”. But I wouldn’t change one day of it.

      Thank you 😊

Leave a Reply

