How to become a dollface the NQC way | part 1 liner

20130508-015654.jpg

Ages ago I said I’d show you lovelies some ways I use to do my winged liner. There are, seriously, so many ways to do it. I think it all depends on what you’re comfortable with, how long you’ve done it, and what just works for you/your eye shape…blahblahblah.
I think it would be a true statement for me to say that I never know how I’m going to do my liner until I get to that point in my face. Sometimes I use 2 different methods on each eye just to make things even. It’s always a surprise.
As I set up to do this…a lot of thoughts crossed my mind:
– how easy do I want to make it?
– how can I break this down in steps?
– what product did I want to use (liquid, gel, pencil, marker)?
– what have I gotten myself into??!

Then I thought might as well make it a series that includes 2 different types of liner application and false lashes. If there’s any more you’d like me to add to it, definitely let me know!
Sound good?
Good.
Moving on…

method 1- the eyeliner marker

For a really long time I was anti-marker….I couldn’t tell you why. I learned with liquid and, though I hated it, it’s what I knew. Now, I think it’s safe to say that I love the marker liners! They’re easy, less messy, and come in a ton of colors. For today, I’m using a Kat Von D tattoo liner in Trooper. This one is mini because I got it in a travel duo with some mascara and I actually really like how tiny it is…I can get closer to the mirror without hitting it. I’ve already purchased the full-sized version.
So here is my odd attempt at photo documenting how I do my line (god speed):
1- line your hand. This may seem dumb but- it’s a good way of making sure you have an even flow of product from the marker.

20130508-011653.jpg
2- line your…line. I didn’t know how to put that…do your normal liner across the lid. This can vary with eye shape…so play around with it. I also like to start in the center and work my way to the outside and then kind of stamp the marker on the inner line.

20130508-011945.jpg
I also think the best/ easiest way to do this is looking down into a mirror that you’re holding under your chin. Kind of like you’re sneakily checking yourself out in your mirror compact ( I know you do it).
3- position your flick. For this- I like to look straight into the mirror. I then line up marker with my lower lash line and just press down. What this does is continue the line from your lower lash line. Doesn’t have to be perfect it’s just a guide.

20130508-012727.jpg
I realize I look like I’m stabbing myself in the eye but I assure you I’m not…just showing positioning.

4- triangulate. Now you can either step back and check your flick (which I do because my eyes aren’t the same…jerks) or you can simply push down after you’ve stamped your wing and pull back to the middle of the eye…essentially making a wide-angle triangle (isosceles maybe?)

20130508-013537.jpg
5- clean up!. This is where a little eye tugging is involved. I find the skin around my eyes to be a little baggy so I pull taunt on the outside and just smooth any jagged lines, make my flick perfect, and fill any gaps in the liner.

20130508-013802.jpg

And that’s it! Hopefully I didn’t make it overly complicated…I’ve been doing my liner for years (thanks ballet) and it actually took a lot to really think about it and write it out. This method also works with pencil, liquid liner, and also gel. All you need is a brush!

Please ask any questions and if you give it a try let me know!

Method 2 will be coming up shortly…which is even easier…but I thought I’d work backwards.

Later lovelies!

Xx

8 thoughts on “How to become a dollface the NQC way | part 1 liner

  1. Thank you for posting this!

    Two tips stand out for me here, the look down in the mirror (how did I not think of that before?) and where it does look like you’re stabbing your eye for the marker point. Glad that doesn’t hurt πŸ™‚ I have a couple of gel liners that I haven’t used, so this will help!

    • hahaha it wasn’t stabbing…it was just hovering πŸ˜€
      Looking in the mirror helps with thinner lines also- because you’re getting under that kind of bend in the eyelid…you know where it tucks in before the lashes come out…I think that makes sense.
      I have another one coming up with the tape method as well- which is just as easy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

